Introduction to Zoom (part 4)

Yann Houry
2 min readSep 5, 2020

Let’s consider some of the best practices when using Zoom whether you are a teacher or a student.

As a teacher

  1. Get a headset and a microphone. You can always cut off the video if your internet connection is slow but you definitely need to be heard.
  2. Keep your background clear of distractions or use Virtual backgrounds.
  3. Mute yourself if you don’t talk.
  4. Name your students as much as you can to get them involved.

As a student

We are asking students to have their Pronote profile picture on their Zoom account and to only display their real name.

As far as one can, I prefer my students to show their face but many of them are reluctant to do so and I can fully understand why: they are worried about showing their room, about being photographed or filmed and maybe bullied. On top of that, you have to remember that the iPad is not always a multitask device. So when the students open a doc, it turns off the camera.

Therefore, I would say that

  1. If possible, pupils should turn on their camera (but, in my opinion, that is not mandatory).
  2. In order to hear them loud and clear, I recommend they use their iPhone headphone with the built-in mic or whatever they have.
  3. I want to identify them as fast as I can, so no nickname no pseudonym no fancy picture.
  4. I also expect them to be able to answer my question. Of course a lot can happen: they lost the connection, they didn’t understand or hear, they may have been distracted and I can understand that but if they can never answer to a simple question (even something simple as “Can you repeat this or that?”), I start to worry and I sometimes even warn the parents that something may go wrong.

--

--

Yann Houry

Teacher and Director of Academic Research & Innovation @ Lycée International de Londres Winston Churchill